
HIGHLIGHTS OF THE DELAWARE PESTICIDE LAW 
 
 
 

THE PESTICIDE LABEL 
 
THE LABEL IS THE LAW!  It has 
information you must know.  It is 
unlawful to sell a pesticide without an 

attached label. 
 
 

CERTIFICATION 
 
Restricted Use Pesticides (RUP’s) are 
pesticides that, even when applied according 
to label directions, may cause unreasonable 
damage to the environment or injury to the 
applicator if additional regulations and 
restrictions are not enforced.  Therefore, 
RUP’s may be applied only by certified 
applicators or by those working under their 
direct supervision. 
 

 
APPLICATION RECORDS 

 
All applicators should keep the following 
records for 2 years from the 
date of application:  
 
• Pesticide name and 

formulation. 
• EPA registration 

number. 
• Dilution rate and amount applied. 
• Date and area treated. 
• Pest Controlled. 
• Name of applicator. 
• Name of certified applicator. 
• Weather conditions if label advises 

precautions against drift: wind 
velocity and direction, temperature 
and relative humidity. 

 

EMPLOYEE REGISTRATION 
 
The certified, commercial applicator must 
train and register employees who apply 
pesticides.  The registration must be 
submitted to the Delaware Department of 
Agriculture within 30 days of employment.  
The certified applicator must be able to 
verify employee training. 
 
 

BUSINESS LICENSE 
 

Any person in the business of 
applying pesticides (even 
general-use) to the land of 
another must obtain a pesticide 
business license from the DDA 

in addition to a regular business license (for 
example, Division of Revenue).  All pest 
control businesses licensed in Ornamental 
and Turf, Right-of-Way, and Structural Pest 
Control must display their company name 
and pesticide business license number on all 
service vehicles.  The license number shall 
be in BOLD, READABLE NUMBERS, 
not less than two (2) inches or more than six 
(6) inches high. 
 
 

DEALERS 
 
Dealers of pesticides must keep records on 
the sale of RUP’s: 
 
• Pesticide name & EPA Registration 

Number. 
• Quantity and date. 
• Name and address of purchaser or 

receiver, including the certified 
applicator’s ID number. 

 



DAMAGE OR INJURY 
 
Any person claiming damages from a 
pesticide application must file a 
report with the DDA within 60 days.  

If a growing crop is alleged to have been 
damaged, the report must be filed before 
25% of the crop has been harvested.  The 
claimant must permit the DDA, the 
applicator and his representatives to 
observe, within reasonable hours, the 
alleged damages. 
 
 
OTHER FEDERAL AND STATE LAWS 

 
RESOURCE CONSERVATION AND 

RECOVERY ACT (RCRA) 
 
RCRA regulates the disposal of hazardous 
wastes.  It is administered by the EPA and 
the Delaware Department of Natural 
Resources and Environmental Control. 
 

SUPERFUND AMENDMENTS AND 
REAUTHORIZATION ACT OF 1985 

(SARA) 
 
Sara Title III (Emergency Planning and 
Community Right-to-Know Act) establishes 
emergency planning preparedness and 
reporting of quantities of stored or spilled 
hazardous chemicals.  It is administered by 
EPA, the Division of Delaware. 

 
 

HAZARDOUS CHEMICAL  
INFORMATION ACT 

 
This act requires that employers provide 
employees and other interested parties with 
certain pesticide use and safety information. 

  It is administered by the State of 
Delaware, Division of Public 
Health, Bureau of Environmental 
health. 

FINES AND PENALTIES 
 
The Delaware Pesticide Law states 
that certain actions are unlawful. 
These unlawful acts include: 
 
• Make a pesticide recommendation or 

application not in accordance with 
the label. 

• Operate in a faulty, careless or 
negligent manner. 

• Fail to keep required records. 
• Transport, store or dispose of 

pesticides in a manner as to endanger 
man, crops, livestock, wildlife or the 
environment. 

• Detach, alter, deface or destroy the 
label before sale. 

• Apply an RUP without a certified 
applicator in direct supervision. 

• Fill application equipment without a 
backflow preventing valve or device 
unless a separate water storage tank 
is used & the fill spout does not 
touch the water level. 

 
In addition, you must have a copy of the 
label at the site during application.  You 
must provide information from the label to 
any interested person at or near the 
application site upon request.  Penalties may 
be assessed at up to $2,500 per violation. 
 
 

FOR MORE INFORMATION: 
   

(800) 282-8685 
(302) 698-4500 

 

Pesticide Compliance 
 

Delaware Department of Agriculture 
 

New Castle County Extension: (302) 831-2526 
Kent County Extension: (302) 697-4000 

Sussex County Extension: (302) 856-7303 


