
INFORMATION AND REQUIREMENTS 
under the 

DELAWARE PESTICIDE LAW 
 
This summary sets forth the requirements of the 
Delaware Pesticide Law and the Regulations 
promulgated for its administration as they pertain 
to Pesticide Applicator Business Licenses.   
(Copies of the Law and Regulations are available 
upon request). 

 

QUALIFYING FOR A LICENSE 

 
WHO IS REQUIRED: 
 
A pesticide business license is required to engage 
in the business of applying pesticides to the 
property of another within this state for 
compensation, 
 
EXCEPT: 
 
• Any person who applies pesticides on or at a 

premise he/she owns, leases, or operates 
 
• Veterinarians or physicians in their 

professional service 
 
• Research personnel applying pesticides to 

bona fide experimental plots 
 
TO QUALIFY: 
 
To qualify for a Pesticide Business License, the 
following requirements must be met: 
 
• Submit a notarized application; 
 
• Submit either a surety bond or a liability 

insurance policy or certificate thereof; 
 
• Pay $50.00 for a one (1) year license or 

$100.00 for a two (2) year license. 

• Become a certified Commercial Applicator in 
one or more categories of pest control; and 

 
• At least one of the certified applicators must 

have a minimum of two years practical 
experience under the supervision of a certified 
applicator.  This experience shall have been 
acquired during the previous three-year 
period, and shall be related to the license 
classification at issue. This requirement 
applies to applicators in Agricultural Plant 
(category 1A), Forest Pest Control (02) and 
the structural pest control industry (categories 
7a, 7b, and 7c) only.  Please provide proof of 
two years practical experience if application is 
for these categories of pest control. 

 
COMPLETING THE APPLICATION: 
 
• Fill in all parts of the application form 

(indicate “N/A” if not applicable). 
 
• Print or type where requested to do so. 
 
• Indicate categories in which you are applying 

for license. 
 
• Complete signature portion and notarize. 
 
• Submit appropriate fees.  Make check payable 

to the Delaware Department of Agriculture. 
 
LICENSE RENEWAL: 
 
Each pesticide business license expires on 
December 31 or upon expiration of the liability 
insurance policy for the company.  Notices for 
renewal are mailed by the Department on October 
1 of each year.  License renewals received after 
January 1 are assessed a late penalty of 20%. 
 
MARKING VEHICLES: 
 
Businesses licensed in categories 3, 6, and 7 must 
mark their service vehicles with the business name 

and Pesticide Business License number in bold 
and readable numbers not less than 2 inches  
or more than 6 inches high.  The license number 
should be displayed as: DDA Lic. No. # # #. 
 
REGISTERING EMPLOYEES: 
 
All employees applying or handling pesticides 
must be registered.  The following information 
should be forwarded with the appropriate fees to 
the Department: 
 
• Name and address, 
• Social Security, 
• Birth date and photograph to be applied to I.D. 

Card. 
 
Applications for registering employees are 
provided upon request.  Within 30 days of an 
employee’s termination, written notification must 
be made to the Department. 
 
EMPLOYEE TRAINING: 
 
Each licensee is responsible for insuring that all 
employees who handle pesticides (other than a 
Certified Applicator) have successfully completed 
a training program approved by the Department.  
Such training must be completed within 30 days of 
employment and before the employee is registered 
with the Department.  Upon request by the 
Department, each licensee shall provide written 
verification that an employee has completed an 
approved training program. 
 
BUSINESS LICENSE CATEGORIES: 
 
The following categories of Pesticide Business 
Licenses include any business which applies 
pesticides as follows: 
 

   �     (a) Agricultural Plant Pest Control – use of 
pesticides in the production of agricultural 
crops as well as on grassland and non-crop 
agricultural lands; 

 



(b) Agricultural Animal Pest Control – use of 
pesticides on animals or in animal confines, 
Doctors of Veterinary Medicine applying 
pesticides on large scale; 
 

BUSINESS LICENSE CATEGORIES (con’t) 
 

(c) Fumigation of Soil and Agricultural 
Products – use of pesticides for soil 
fumigation in the production of an 
agricultural commodity and/or for 
fumigation of agricultural products in 
storage or transit; 

 
� Forest Pest Control – in forests, forest 

nurseries and forest seed producing areas; 
 
� Ornamental and Turf Pest Control  - in the 

maintenance of ornamental trees, shrubs, 
flowers and turf; 

 
� Seed Treatment – on seeds; 
 
�  Aquatic Pest Control 
 

(a) Aquatic Weeds – to standing or 
running waters 

(b) Antifouling Paints – for the 
maintenance of boat hulls 

(c) Mosquito Control; 
 

� Right of Way Pest Control – in the 
maintenance of public roads, electric power 
lines, pipe lines, railway right-of-ways, or 
other similar areas; 

 
� Industrial, Institutional, Structural, and 

Health Related Pest Control – in, on, or 
around food-handling establishments, 
human dwellings, institutions such as 
schools and hospitals, industrial 
establishment including warehouses, grain 
elevators and food-processing plants; and 
any other structures and adjacent areas; and 

for the protection of stored, processed, or 
manufactured products.  

 
PROOF OF FINANCIAL RESPONSIBILITY: 

 
Proof of financial security required must consist of  
a general liability insurance policy with completed 
operation coverage or certification thereof from an 
insurance company or risk retention group. 

 
INSURANCE: 

 
Liability insurance shall provide coverage which 
includes all of the following: 

 
1. Not less than $300,000 bodily injury 

or death for each occurrence. 
 
2. Not less than $100,000 property 

damage for each occurrence.  
 

PESTICIDE RECORD KEEPING: 
 

At a minimum, a licensee must keep the following 
information for two (2) years for each pesticide 
application: 

 
1. The brand name of the pesticide and   

EPA registration number 
 

2. The dilution rate and the amount      
applied per area (e.g., gallons/A) 

 
3. The date and specific area treated 
 
4. The pest to be controlled 

 
5. The applicator’s name 

 
6. Weather conditions when drift 

precautions are listed on the label 
 
Delaware Department of Agriculture 

Pesticide Section 
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Dover, DE  19901 
(302)698-4500 

(800)282-8685 (DE only) 
(302)697-4483 (Fax) 
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