
INFORMATION AND REQUIREMENTS 

under the 

DELAWARE PESTICIDE LAW 

 
This summary sets forth the requirements of the 

Delaware Pesticide Law and the Regulations 
promulgated for its administration as they 

pertain to Pesticide Applicator Business 

Licenses.   (Copies of the Law and Regulations 
are available upon request). 

 

QUALIFYING FOR A LICENSE 

 

WHO IS REQUIRED: 
 

A pesticide business license is required to engage 
in the business of applying pesticides to the 

property of another within this state for 

compensation, 
 

EXCEPT: 
 

 Any person who applies pesticides on or at a 

premise he/she owns, leases, or operates 
 

 Veterinarians or physicians in their 

professional service 
 

 Research personnel applying pesticides to 

bona fide experimental plots 
 

TO QUALIFY: 
 

To qualify for a Pesticide Business License, the 

following requirements must be met: 
 

 Submit a notarized application; 

 

 Submit either a surety bond or a liability 

insurance policy or certificate thereof; 
 

 Pay $50.00 for a one (1) year license or 

$100.00 for a two (2) year license. 

 Become a certified Commercial Applicator in 

one or more categories of pest control; and 

 

 At least one of the certified applicators must 

have a minimum of two years practical 

experience under the supervision of a 

certified applicator.  This experience shall 
have been acquired during the previous three-

year period, and shall be related to the license 

classification at issue. This requirement 

applies to aerial applicators and the structural 
pest control industry (categories 7a, 7b, and 

7c) only.  Please provide proof of two years 

practical experience if application is for these 
categories of pest control. 

 

COMPLETING THE APPLICATION: 
 

 Fill in all parts of the application form 

(indicate “N/A” if not applicable). 
 

 Print or type where requested to do so. 
 

 Indicate categories in which you are applying 

for license. 
 

 Complete signature portion and notarize. 
 

 Submit appropriate fees.  Make check 

payable to the Delaware Department of 

Agriculture. 
 

LICENSE RENEWAL: 
 

Each pesticide business license expires on 

December 31 or upon expiration of the liability 

insurance policy for the company.  Notices for 
renewal are mailed by the Department on October 

1 of each year.  License renewals received after 

January 1 are assessed a late penalty of 20%. 
 

MARKING VEHICLES: 
 

Businesses licensed in categories 3, 6, and 7 must 

mark their service vehicles with the business 

name and Pesticide Business License number in 

bold and readable numbers not less than 2 inches  
or more than 6 inches high.  The license number 

should be displayed as: DDA Lic. No. # # #. 
 

REGISTERING EMPLOYEES: 

 
All employees applying or handling pesticides 

must be registered.  The following information 

should be forwarded with the appropriate fees to 

the Department: 
 

 Name and address, 

 Social Security, 

 Birth date and photograph to be applied to 

I.D. Card. 
 

Applications for registering employees are 
provided upon request.  Within 30 days of an 

employee’s termination, written notification must 

be made to the Department. 
 

EMPLOYEE TRAINING: 
 

Each licensee is responsible for insuring that all 

employees who handle pesticides (other than a 
Certified Applicator) have successfully 

completed a training program approved by the 

Department.  Such training must be completed 
within 30 days of employment and before the 

employee is registered with the Department.  

Upon request by the Department, each licensee 
shall provide written verification that an 

employee has completed an approved training 

program. 
 

BUSINESS LICENSE CATEGORIES: 
 

The following categories of Pesticide Business 

Licenses include any business which applies 
pesticides as follows: 
 

   1.     (a) Agricultural Plant Pest Control – use of 

pesticides in the production of agricultural 

crops as well as on grassland and non-crop 

agricultural lands; 



 

(b) Agricultural Animal Pest Control – use 

of pesticides on animals or in animal 

confines, Doctors of Veterinary Medicine 
applying pesticides on large scale; 

 

BUSINESS LICENSE CATEGORIES (con’t) 
 

(c) Fumigation of Soil and Agricultural 

Products – use of pesticides for soil 
fumigation in the production of an 

agricultural commodity and/or for 

fumigation of agricultural products in 
storage or transit; 

 

2. Forest Pest Control – in forests, forest 

nurseries and forest seed producing areas; 

 

3. Ornamental and Turf Pest Control  - in the 

maintenance of ornamental trees, shrubs, 
flowers and turf; 

 

4. Seed Treatment – on seeds; 
 

5.  Aquatic Pest Control 

 
(a) Aquatic Weeds – to standing or 

running waters 

(b) Antifouling Paints – for the 

maintenance of boat hulls 
(c) Mosquito Control; 

  

6. Right of Way Pest Control – in the 
maintenance of public roads, electric 

power lines, pipe lines, railway right-of-

ways, or other similar areas; 
 

7. Industrial, Institutional, Structural, and 

Health Related Pest Control – in, on, or 
around food-handling establishments, 

human dwellings, institutions such as 

schools and hospitals, industrial 
establishment including warehouses, grain 

elevators and food-processing plants; and 

any other structures and adjacent areas; 

and for the protection of stored, processed, 

or manufactured products.  
 

PROOF OF FINANCIAL RESPONSIBILITY: 

 

Proof of financial security required must consist of  

a general liability insurance policy with completed 
operation coverage or certification thereof from an 

insurance company or risk retention group. 
 

INSURANCE: 
 

Liability insurance shall provide coverage which 

includes all of the following: 

 
1. Not less than $300,000 bodily injury 

or death for each occurrence. 
 

2. Not less than $100,000 property 

damage for each occurrence.  
 

PESTICIDE RECORD KEEPING: 
 

At a minimum, a licensee must keep the following 

information for two (2) years for each pesticide 
application: 

 

1. The brand name of the pesticide and   

EPA registration number 
 

2. The dilution rate and the amount      

applied per area (e.g., gallons/A) 
 

3. The date and specific area treated 
 

4. The pest to be controlled 
 

5. The applicator’s name 
 

6. Weather conditions when drift 

precautions are listed on the label 
 

Delaware Department of Agriculture 

Pesticide Section 
2320 S. Dupont Hwy. 

Dover, DE  19901 

(302)698-4500 

(800)282-8685 (DE only) 

(302)697-4483 (Fax) 
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