PESTICIDE COMPLIANCE - BUSINESS LICENSING
Download the Business License
Application by clicking
on the link for this application.
All applications are in PDF format. To open forms in the .pdf format requires the following program to be installed on your computer. To install the software required to access these documents download the following:
The following summary sets forth the requirements of the Delaware Pesticide Law and the rules and regulations promulgated for it's administration as they pertain to Pesticide Applicator Business Licenses.
Qualifying for a License
Who Is Required?
A pesticide business license is required to engage in the business of applying pesticides to the property of another within this state for compensation.
Who Is Not Required?
Any person who applies pesticides on or at a premise he/she owns, leases, or operates; Veterinarians or physicians in their professional service; and Research personnel applying pesticides to bona fide experimental plots
How Do I Qualify?
To qualify for a Pesticide Business License the following requirements must be met:
- Submit a notarized application
- Submit a surety bond or a liability insurance policy or certificate thereof
- Pay $50.00 for a one(1) year Pesticide Busincess License or $100.00 for a two(2) year Pesticide Business License
- Become a certified Commercial Applicator in one or more categories of
pest control and
- at least one of the certified applicators must have a minimum of two(2) years practical experience under the supervision of a certified applicator. This experience shall have been acquired during the previous three (3) year period, and shall be related to the license classification at issue. This requirement applies to applicators in Agricultural Plant (category 1A) and Forest Pest Control (category 02) and the structural pest control industry (categories 7A, 7B, and 7C) only. Please provide proof of two(2) years of practical experience if the application is for any of these categories of pest control.
How Do I Complete the Application?
- Fill in all parts of the application form (indicate "N/A" if not applicable)
- Type or neatly print the requested information
- Indicate categories in which you are applying for license
- Complete signature portion and get application notarized
- Submit the appropriate fees (make checks payable to: Delaware Department of Agriculture)
How Do I Renew My License ?
All Pesticide Business Licenses expire on December 31st or upon the expiration of the liability insurance policy for the company. Notices for renewal are mailed out by our office no later than October 1st of each year. License renewals received after January 1st are assessed a late penalty fee of 20%.
Who Is Required to Mark Their Vehicles?
Businesses licensed in Ornamental and Turf (category 3), Right-of-Way (category 6), and the Industrial, Instructional, Structural, and Health Related categories; General Pest Control; Wood Destroying Pest Control; Fumigation (non-agricultural); Wood Preservatives; Institutional and Maintenance' Cooling Towers; and Miscellaneous (category 7) must mark their service vehicles with the Business Name and Pesticide Business License number in bold and readable numbers not less than 2 inches or more than 6 inches high. The license number should be displayed as: DDA Lic. No. # # #.
How Do I Register Employees?
All employees applying or handling pesticides must be registered. The following information should be forwarded with the appropriate fees to the Department:
- Name and Address
- Social Security Number
- Birth Date
A photograph must be applied to the identification card carried by the employee and/or the employer.
Applications for registering employees are provided upon request. Within 30 days of terminating an employee written notification must be provided to the Department.
What Type of Employee Training Is Required?
Each licensee is responsible for insuring that all employees who handle pesticides (other than a Certified Applicator) have successfully completed a training program approved by the Department. Such training must be completed within 30 days of employment and before the employee is registered with the Department. Upon request by the Department, each licensee shall provide written verification that an employee has completed an approved training program.
Business License Categories
The following categories of Pesticide Business Licenses include any business which applies pesticides as follows:
|Agricultural Plant Pest Control - use of pesticides in the production of agricultural crops as well as on grassland and non-crop agricultural lands|
|Agricultural Animal Pest Control - use of pesticides on animals or in animal confines, Doctors of Veterinary Medicine applying pesticides on large scale|
|Fumigation of Soil and Agricultural Products - use of pesticides for soil fumigation in the production of an agricultural commodity and/or for fumigation of agricultural products in storage or transit|
|Forest Pest Control - in forests, forest nurseries and forest seed producing areas|
|Ornamental and Turf Pest Control - in the maintenance of ornamental trees, shrubs, flowers and turf|
|Seed Treatment - on seeds|
|Aquatic Pest Control/Aquatic Weeds - to standing or running waters|
|Antifouling Paints - for the maintenance of boat hulls|
|Right of Way Pest Control - in the maintenance of public roads, electric power lines, pipe lines, railway right-of-ways, or other similar areas|
|Industrial, Institutional, Structural, and Health Related Pest Control - in, on, or around food-handling establishments, human dwellings, institutions such as schools and hospitals, industrial establishment including warehouses, grain elevators and food-processing plants; and any other structures and adjacent areas; and for the protection of stored, processed, or manufactured products|
Proof of Financial Responsibility
Proof of financial security is required and must contain a general liability insurance policy with completed operation coverage or certification thereof from an insurance company or risk retention group.
- Insurance Coverage - liability insurance shall provide coverage which includes all of the following:
- Not less than $300,000 bodily injury or death for each occurrence
- Not less than $100,000 property damage for each occurrence
Pesticide Record Keeping
At a minimum, a licensee must keep the following information for two(2) years for each pesticide application. Each record must contain the following:
- Brand name of the pesticide and EPA registration number
- Dilution rate and the amount applied per area (e.g., gallons/A)
- Date and specific area treated
- The pest to be controlled
- The applicator's full name
- Weather conditions when drift precautions are listed on the label
Need more information about a particular companies' business license?
Click the link to search our database:
David Pyne, Administrator
Delaware Department of Agriculture
2320 South DuPont Highway
Dover, Delaware 19901
Phone: (302) 698-4500
Toll Free: (800) 282-8685 (In Delaware Only)
DE Relay: (800) 232-5460 (In Delaware Only)
General Fax: (302) 697-6287
Individual Fax Numbers by Section
For Questions Regarding this website: