Delaware Department of Agriculture
Pesticide Compliance
2320 S. DuPont Hwy., Dover, Delaware 19901
Tel. (302) 698-4575 or (800) 282-8685
Fax (302) 697-4483

Pesticide Testing and Certification Program

The Department of Agriculture will be conducting testing for pesticide licensing every 45 days
at the specific testing location as detailed below. Please see Exam Procedures below for pre-
registration information and fees.

Exam testing dates, times, and location scheduled:

Location: Delaware State Fairgrounds
644 Fairgrounds Road, Harrington, DE 19952
(promptly) at 8:45 a.m. in the Ag Education Bldg.

December 7, 2016
January 4, 2017
February 22, 2017
April 12, 2017
May 31, 2017
July 12, 2017

" Delaware Department of Agriculture, Pesticide Section

DDA Exam Procedures sective sanuary 1, 2014)

EXAM REGISTRATION AND FEES

All exam candidates must be pre-registered with a completed Application for Certification.
Commercial applicators, initially certifying or recertifying, must include the required $30.00 exam fee
with the application to reserve a seat for the exam date selected. Payment is required by check,
money order or credit card with the application and may be received via postal mail, fax or email. All

delivery methods must be received in our office at least one week prior to your selected exam date.
Be sure to select the type of certification you’re applying for and all needed exams for your
scheduled date. Commercial candidates that comply with all exam procedures and successfully
complete all scheduled exams with a score of 70% or higher will have their fee applied towards
certification. Exam fees are initially waived for Private Non-Commercial and Government applicators

when they comply with all exam procedures.



Attendance exceptions include Jury Duty, Military Duty or death in the family situations but must be
verifiable and approved by the exam proctor.

CANCELLING OR RESCHEDULING AN EXAM

To cancel a scheduled exam, all candidates must contact the department at least one week (7 days)
in advance of scheduled exams to properly reschedule a future exam date. Commercial candidates
not attending their scheduled exam or not providing the minimum cancellation time for rescheduling
will forfeit exam fees since classes have limited seating.

Candidate cancellations or being a “NO SHOW” for a scheduled exam date by Private non-
commercial or Government attendees may result in denial of future requests of exam date
scheduling.

EXAM DAY

Allow yourself adequate time to travel to the exam site in order to check-in at least 15 minutes prior
to the start of the exam. Participants will have a maximum of three (3) hours to complete any
requested exams. The actual address and location is provided with your exam confirmation letter.
Traffic delays, direction issues, and mechanical problems are not acceptable excuses for arriving late.
Late entry is not permitted and any participant arriving after the exam start time will not be allowed
entry. No exceptions or excuses accepted. Candidates who are late or do not appear for scheduled
exams will forfeit the exam fee. In such cases, exam candidates will be required to submit a new
Commercial Applicator application and exam fee to register for another test date. Refunds cannot be

given. Exams are by appointment only and should be made well in advance of the selected date.

In addition, if your name does not appear on the Exam Roster or your paid application is not in the
exam files, you will not be allowed to take the exam. Phone use is prohibited by attendees in the
exam building during exam hours unless approved by the exam proctor.

REPEATING AN EXAM

e Commercial candidates who are unsuccessful in passing the exam may re-take the exam. To retake

the exam you must eligible, submit a new Certified Applicator application, reschedule for another
open exam date, and submit the appropriate exam fee. Commercial candidates not receiving the
required 70% minimum passing score for scheduled exams must reapply with application and exam
fees.

Any person not receiving a passing exam score will be given the opportunity to retake the exam in
forty five (45) days after the initial exam. Only one re-examination of commercial categories is
permitted in any twelve (12) month period.

ADDING A CATEGORY TO AN EXISTING CERTIFICATION

Once you’re commercially certified you can add a category to your existing certification by:

e Completing a certification application
e Selecting the exam category
e Selecting the exam date needed



e Checking the box — Category Addition
¢ Sign and date the application

Send your completed application to the Delaware Department of Agriculture, Pesticide Section.
There is no additional charge for adding categories to your Commercial Certification when you
receive the required 70% minimum passing score and meet the exam rescheduling or cancellation
time of one week (7 days). If you’re unsuccessful or do not adhere to the rescheduling/cancellation
one week (7 days), you will have to reapply with a new application and the required $30.00 fee prior
to exam rescheduling.

ITEMS YOU MAY BRING TO THE EXAM

Prior to sitting for the exam you will be required to show a valid, government issued, photo
identification document. Acceptable photo identification documents include a current state issued
driver’s license (or a non-driver photo identification document), military ID or passport. No exam
admittance will be allowed if you are unable to produce the required identification. Exam
confirmation letters (if received) will be kept by the Department.

ITEMS YOU MAY NOT BRING TO THE EXAM

¢ Do not bring any of the following items to the exam:

* Books, study/training materials, or review notes. (All exams are closed book.)

¢ Any type of writing pad, loose leaf binder or other source of paper. Scratch or calculation area is
provided on each exam answer sheets.

e A calculator or any type of electronic device (computer, personal digital assistant or PDA, camera
radio, recording device).

¢ Any pagers, cell or smart phone and other communication device. Possession or use of any of these
items anywhere in the exam location will result in your immediate disqualification, failure of your
exam and dismissal from the exam room. Prohibited items should be left at an appropriate location
that will ensure their safety.

¢ Food or drink of any kind.

ITEMS PROVIDED DURING THE EXAM

¢ Pencils and calculators will be provided by the Department for candidates during the exam.
NOTE: DO NOT WRITE or Mark on EXAMS or EXAM LABELS

Training Materials

Core and Commercial Category training manuals can be purchased in person at the Delaware
Department of Agriculture or via phone at (302) 698-4571.

Study the Core Manual for FREE!
Go to: de.gov/pesticides
The complete core manual as a tutorial and study guide




