Certification and Education


Current Delaware Nutrient Management Credits & Expiration Dates (as of 10/03/16)

There are four levels of Nutrient Management Certification. The minimum requirements for initial certification is:

  1. Nutrient Generator - You must complete at least 6 credit hours of educational course work as approved by the Delaware Nutrient Management Program.
  2. Private Nutrient Handler – You must complete at least 9 credit hours of educational course work as approved by the Delaware Nutrient Management Program.
  3. Commercial Nutrient Handler – You must complete at least 12 credit hours of educational course work as approved by the Delaware Nutrient Management Program, pass a written exam approved by the Commission and remit a fee of $150 for a three year period.
  4. Nutrient Consultant – You must complete at least 12 credit hours of educational course work as approved by the Delaware Nutrient Management Program, pass a written exam approved by the Commission and remit a fee of $100 for a one year period.

The Nutrient Management Program has adopted a policy of accepting certification from other states and certification programs (i.e. CCA). Contact the Commission for a detailed listing of approved certification programs. A seminar covering the Delaware Law is still a requirement.

Continuing Education

In order to maintain certification, the certification holder must attain the following prior to their expiration date:

  • Nutrient Generator – Complete (6) Continuing Education credits
  • Private Nutrient Handler – Complete (6) Continuing Education credits
  • Commercial Nutrient Handler – Complete (6) Continuing Education credits and remit $150
  • Nutrient Consultant – Complete (5) Continuing Education credits and remit $100

The University of Delaware Cooperative Extension office conducts most of the classes and a list of these classes.